Skip to content

Tabletop Arc vs DM Scribe: the same product, metered in minutes

Of everything on this list, Tabletop Arc is the product most like ours: audio in, transcript out, a recap, a wiki that builds itself, claims grounded in transcript evidence, and a GM-private versus player-safe split on what gets shared. When two products do the same job, the decision lives in the meters — theirs counts minutes, credits and gigabytes; ours counts hours — and in the short list of things each does that the other does not.

The short version

Tabletop Arc is a direct competitor doing very nearly our job, and its free tier beats ours outright on two things: unlimited campaigns and public sharing at $0, where our free plan holds one campaign and sharing starts on the $7.99 tier. On audio the arithmetic runs the other way — its free 30 minutes are an eighth of one four-hour session, and every paid Arc tier buys fewer hours per dollar than the plan of ours it lines up against.

The numbers, with sources

WhatValueSource
Tabletop Arc — Free plan$0/month — 30 audio minutes/month, unlimited campaigns, Lore Wall & wiki, public Arc pages, 1 GB storage; no credit card requiredsourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — free tier permanence"There is no auto-converting trial. Start on Free and upgrade whenever you want."sourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — Pro plan$9/month — 300 audio minutes/month, 10 GB storage, resource packs, priority supportsourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — Legend plan$19/month — 1,200 audio minutes/month, 50 GB storage, priority AI queue, premium exports, Creator World Studiosourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — audio top-up packs (Pro and Legend only)+150 minutes for $3, +500 for $8, +1,500 for $20; purchased packs persist until used; free users cannot buy packssourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — AI and image credits per tierAI credits: 30 free / 400 Pro / 1,500 Legend per month; image credits: 10 / 80 / 300. The pricing page does not state what one credit buys.sourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — public sharing"Public or unlisted pages for episodes, wiki, and maps"; the Free plan includes public Arc pagessourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — GM-private vs player-safe outputsTheir site: "Every recap and note" publishes as "GM_PRIVATE (full spoilers, internal notes) or PLAYER_SAFE (no hidden info, shareable link)"sourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — evidence grounding"Every canon update and recap claim is traceable to transcript evidence with confidence levels (HIGH / MEDIUM / LOW)"sourceas of 2026-09-20
Tabletop Arc — canon model"World Bible / State Ledger": every session creates a structured diff update to canon (NPCs, locations, factions, quests, open threads, items), with a correction loop tracked as ledger eventssourceas of 2026-09-20
DM Scribe — plans, for comparisonFree: 2.5 hours/month + one-time 3 bonus hours, 1 campaign; $7.99/month for 10 hours; $14.99/month for 30 hours; 5-hour bundle $4.95 that never expiresDM Scribe pricingas of 2026-09-20

How we sourced this: Every Tabletop Arc figure above was read from tabletoparc.com/pricing and its homepage on 2026-09-20, both linked per row. No annual billing is shown on the pricing page — an absence we observed, not a claim that none exists. The AI-credit and image-credit allowances are recorded but deliberately not converted into recaps, questions or images, because the page does not define what one credit buys and a conversion we invented would be our number presented as theirs. No per-upload length or file-size limit is published either. We have not run the same session through both products and make no claim about relative transcript or recap quality. This is a small, actively developed product, and its pricing is the part most likely to have moved since the date above.

Minutes against hours, with your table’s number

Arc meters audio in minutes per month: 30 free, 300 on the $9 Pro plan, 1,200 on the $19 Legend plan. Ours are hours: 2.5 free, 10 for $7.99, 30 for $14.99. A four-hour session is 240 minutes, so run your own table through both before reading anything else on this page.

The free tiers first, because both are permanent rather than trials. Theirs is 30 minutes a month — an eighth of one four-hour session, so no real session shape fits inside it; what their free tier actually gives you is the unlimited campaigns, the Lore Wall and the public pages, with the audio as a taste. Ours is 2.5 hours a month plus 3 one-time bonus hours, which takes your first four-hour session whole — and a table that plays a two-hour one-shot each month never pays us anything. Neither free tier sustains a weekly four-hour game; we would rather say so than let either free plan imply it.

Now the paid maths. A weekly four-hour table uses about 16 hours in most months and 20 in a five-week one — 960 to 1,200 minutes. On Arc that is the $19 Legend plan, which a five-session month consumes exactly, to the minute. On ours it is the $14.99 plan with 10 or so hours to spare. A weekly two-hour table uses about 480 minutes: Pro’s 300 falls short, so on Arc that is Pro plus audio packs — call it $12 a month with the $8 pack amortised — or the $19 Legend plan, against $7.99 with room on ours. A monthly four-hour game is their $9 Pro against our $7.99.

Per hour of audio, that is $1.80 on Arc Pro and $0.95 on Legend, against $0.80 and $0.50 on the plans of ours they line up against. One honest exception: Arc’s largest audio pack works out at $0.80 an hour — the same rate as our $7.99 plan — and their packs persist until used, like our $4.95 five-hour bundle. The gap is in the base plans, not the top-ups. The same arithmetic for six more tools is in the cost guide.

What Tabletop Arc does that we do not

Named plainly, because a comparison page that finds no advantages in the other tool is not worth reading — and this one has real ones.

  • Public pages on the free tier. Arc publishes episodes, wiki and maps as public or unlisted pages at $0. Our sharing is a private read-only link, it covers the wiki rather than everything, and it sits on the $7.99 plan — if showing your campaign to the internet matters, they are giving away what we charge for.
  • Unlimited campaigns at $0. Our free plan holds one campaign; theirs holds as many as you like, with the 30 audio minutes shared across them.
  • A ledger, not just a wiki. Arc describes a World Bible / State Ledger where every session writes a structured diff to canon and corrections are tracked as ledger events, with a confidence level on every claim. We cite sources when you ask your campaign a question, but we do not publish per-claim confidence levels or a session-by-session diff of the canon, and if an auditable ledger is how you want your campaign kept, that is their feature, not ours.
  • Image credits on every tier. We do not make images at all. What one Arc image credit buys is not stated on their pricing page — see the note under the table — but an image feature of any size is more than our zero.

Where the overlap is real, and the differences inside it

Both products turn a session recording into a transcript, a "previously on" recap and a self-building campaign reference, and both split what the GM sees from what players see: their recaps and wiki publish as GM-private or player-safe, and our shared wiki is a whitelist that never sends GM notes to the browser at all. On the description level these are the same product, which is why the meters matter so much.

The difference we will claim is upstream: before your audio is transcribed, we prime the model with your own campaign’s glossary, characters and recorded nicknames, so an invented name settles on one spelling and keeps it — how that works. Nothing on Arc’s site describes priming transcription with your campaign’s own vocabulary; that is an absence we observed, not proof they do nothing of the kind.

Inputs differ too. Arc’s site describes GMs uploading session recordings. We also take video containers — MP4, MOV, MKV, with the audio track pulled out and multi-track files mixed — and a pasted or uploaded transcript on every plan, spending zero audio hours. Whether Arc accepts text or video its pages do not say, so we will not say either.

The fine print neither pricing page can settle for you

Arc’s plans meter four resources — audio minutes, AI credits, image credits and storage — and its pricing page does not say what a single AI credit or image credit buys. That is not a gotcha; it just means you cannot compute in advance what a month of recaps and questions costs in credits, where our non-audio meters are stated in the unit you experience: 5, 50 or 200 questions a day and 2, 10 or unlimited transcript imports a month, by plan.

Neither site claims speaker labelling. Our transcripts are the words in order, unattributed, and nothing on Arc’s pages claims per-speaker tags either. If attribution matters to you, record per-speaker tracks at source — Craig on Discord and Zoom’s per-participant setting both do it free — and keep the files.

And one asymmetry of disclosure: our per-upload cap is published — a single upload takes a session up to 8 hours and 500 MB — while Arc’s pages state no per-upload length or size limit. That is an absence, not a promise of unlimited; if your sessions run very long, it is the first thing to ask them.

Pick Tabletop Arc if…

The honest version is that at today’s figures the price arithmetic rarely favours Arc — the reasons to pick it are product reasons, and they are real ones.

  • You publish your campaign. Public or unlisted pages for episodes, wiki and maps are on their free tier; our sharing is a private wiki link on the $7.99 plan. If an audience is the point, they are ahead of us on both price and scope.
  • You want your canon auditable. A per-claim confidence level, a session-by-session diff ledger and corrections recorded as ledger events is a genuinely different design from an editable wiki, and if that is how you think about campaign truth, nothing we sell replaces it.
  • You run many campaigns and record little. Unlimited campaigns at $0 against our one free campaign — for a shelf of side campaigns and one-shots where the audio is occasional, their free tier is shaped better than ours.
  • You want images from the same tool. Every Arc tier carries image credits; we make no images at all.

Other comparisons

  • World Anvil

    World Anvil is built for authoring a world before you play it. Remembering what happened while you did is a different job. Which one you actually need.

  • Kanka

    Kanka is free, open source and genuinely good — and every entry in it is one you typed. What changes when the notes come out of the session instead.

  • LegendKeeper

    LegendKeeper has the best editor and nested map atlas in this category. It has no transcription. Which problem you have decides which tool you want.

  • Obsidian and Notion

    Obsidian is free and local, Notion is cloud and collaborative, and neither one hears your session. What that actually costs you over a long campaign.

  • Otter.ai

    Otter caps a conversation at 30 minutes free and 90 on Pro. A D&D session runs four hours. What that costs to fix, with current prices and sources.

  • Descript

    Descript meters transcription as media minutes, and a four-hour session spends 240 of them. What each plan covers for a weekly game, with sources.

  • Archivist AI

    Archivist meters sessions, we meter hours. That one difference decides which is cheaper for your table, and it is not the same answer for everyone.

  • The DM's ARK

    The DM’s ARK tags who spoke; we do not. We have a free plan that never expires; they do not. Those two facts decide most of it.

  • Saga20

    Saga20 recognizes each player’s voice and meters by the session. We meter by the hour. The same table prices out differently — which meter fits yours?

All comparisons